The Rowing Trophy Room (The Old Boys’ Cup)

The Rowing Trophy Room (The O’Connor Cup)

2022 Event

Saturday 19 March 2022
Lake Wyaralong Rowing Centre

Program of Events

2022 GPS Rowing Championships Program

Full Results

2022 GPS Rowing Championships Full Results

The O’Connor Cup, 100th Annual Head of the River | Open 1st VIII 2,000m

  1. 1. BBC (5:38.46)
  2. 2. TSS (5:40.51)
  3. 3. NC (5:44.02)
  4. 4. ACGS (5:44.59)
  5. 5. GT (5:49.91)
  6. 6. BGS (5:52.35)
  7. 7. BSHS (6:34.89)

Old Boys’ Cup

Championship points are awarded to crews in the Year 10 1st to 6th Quad, Year 11, 1st VIII to 3rd VIII and Open 1st VIII to 3rd VIII.

  1. 1. TSS (113 pts)
  2. 2. ACGS (86)
  3. 3. BBC (83)
  4. 4. NC (80)
  5. 5. GT (61)
  6. 6. BGS (47)
  7. 7. BSHS (9)


Spectator access only via school buses


Watch the livestream via


Official Program



Key events

1918             Inaugural GPS Head of the River held – known as the ‘All Schools Race’. The Southport School wins, Brisbane  Grammar School second, Brisbane Boys’ College takes third place
1922             O’Connor Cup first presented (back-dated to 1918)
1928             St Joseph’s Gregory Terrace compete for the first time
1942-1945   No races due to World War II
1954             Final year of fours racing for Head of the River competition
1954             St Joseph’s Gregory Terrace returns to Head of the River competition
1955             First year of eights racing for Head of the River
1975-1976   GPS Head of the River held at Lake Kurwongbah
1977             GPS Head of the River moves to Hinze Dam
1983            ‘No race’ was declared by the GPS Headmasters, following the race which resulted in multiple protests
1987             GPS Head of the River moves to Wivenhoe Dam
1988             Old Boys’ Cup introduced to overall point score
1990             New point score system introduced for Old Boys’ Cup; aggregate scoring for 12 championship events (Open 1st-3rd VIII, Yr11 1st-3rd VIII, Yr10 1st-6th Quads)
2003             St Joseph’s Nudgee College wins their first Head of the River
2006             GPS Head of the River held at Hinze Dam
2007             GPS Head of the River moves to Kawana
2016              St Joseph’s Nudgee College hosts the inaugural GPS regatta at Wyaralong Dam
2017              The first full GPS regatta season is held at Wyaralong Dam, including the GPS Head of the River
2018              The GPS Centenary Regatta is held at Lake Wyaralong

Competitor Quote

“I am privileged to be a part of the GPS100 Head of the River, leading the blue-red-blue, in my fifth and final year at State High. Head of the River is the pinnacle of the rowing year. It is the culmination of hundreds of hours of training that come down to a couple of minutes of racing where everything is put on the line. Head of the River is unlike any event! Participating in GPS rowing has taught me that quite often the things we do behind the scenes often go unnoticed but they really make the difference to our success. Going that extra mile in training knowing that it may not make a difference today but if we do it each and every day it will become the difference that counts. The memories and friendships that I have gained from rowing in the GPS will remain with me forever! May you row hard, and follow the example set by all the rowers who have come before you in the GPS. Good luck to you all!”
Niall Waller, Brisbane State High School Vice-Captain of Boats, First VIII Coxswain

Old Boys' and O'Connor Cups for Rowing Championships

View the rich history of  GPS Rowing Champion schools and winners of the “Head of the River” 1st VIII Race in the Trophy Room.

Official Program

The GPS Centenary Rowing Championships Official Program contains crew start lists, history of GPS Rowing results, archive images and inspiring quotes from GPS rowers past and present.

Member Schools